About FBC‎ > ‎Active Boards‎ > ‎

Board of Deacons

Board of Deacons


The Board of Deacons consists of twelve or more members with the total membership always being a number divisible by three.  Membership of the Board will be so arranged so that a third of the Board is elected each year.  The term of a Deacon is three years. A Deacon may serve two consecutive terms.  After a lapse of one year, a deacon is eligible for re-election.


The seriousness of the position of Deacon is mirrored in an Ordination Ceremony held before the congregation once a deacon is elected.  He is surrounded by other deacons who lay their hands on him and the congregation is led in a solemn prayer of commitment and dedication.

Basic Functions.

The Board of Deacons, with the Senior Pastor, has the responsibility for the overall spiritual life of the church.  It assists the Senior Pastor in the evangelistic outreach of the church, endeavors to promote Christian fellowship, assists in discovering ways to enable families to grow in the grace and knowledge of Jesus Christ, and is responsible for the watch-care of all member-families of the church.  The Deacons make every attempt to contact and encourage visitors and irregular attendees. 


Members of the Board assist the pastor in the ordinances of the church such as Baptism and the Lord's Supper.

Deacons' Fund

The Board of Deacons collects and administers a Deacons' Fund, which is used to aid those in the church or community who are in need of assistance with food, transportation, etc.


The Board of Deacons meets monthly or as often as the Board deems necessary.

 Other Activities

In addition to the functions above, the Board quarterly sponsors a "Deacons' Fellowship Breakfast", a well attended and much
anticipated event  by the congregation.


Showing 12 items
NamePhone 1Phone 2EmailTerm ExpiresTerm Number
NamePhone 1Phone 2EmailTerm ExpiresTerm Number
Bob Abbitt (765) 935-2066   2014 
Bob Spence (765) 935-1786   2016 
Burt Lundquist (765) 962-9064   2014 
Chuck Yencer (765) 962-8789   2015 
Don Barnhart (765) 966-5435   2016 
Don Duke (765) 935-5796   2016 
Don Weaver (765) 935-3098   2016 
Ken Bourne (Chair) (765) 966-1956   2014 
Lee Gulley (765) 966-4962   2015 
Ron Stevens (765) 966-6100   2015 
Steve Sheckles (765) 855-2571   2014 
Van Shank (765) 966-4309   2016 
Showing 12 items